A Letter from Danny of The Big Sleep.

Dear Fiz,

How’s it going? Thanks for asking us to do this.

I would like to conduct this in the form of a letter, basically meaning I’m going to say a bunch of stuff and kind of ignore the question/answer format. Sorry to take almost exactly a month getting back to your last email. I don’t like to be so rude; we’ve just been recording and I’m going a little insane. I’ve been spending a lot of time in our space working on stuff and keep forgetting that there’s a world outside of Netflix, bars, and a really small studio. I barely even go to shows at the moment.

Thanks for that huge sound comment, that’s really cool. Part of it is volume and part of it is playing through three delays, just makes it sound like a lot is going on. Trying to tone it down but we’re finding ourselves with too many parts for three people to play, on our next batch of recordings, so we’re thinking about adding a fourth, or just stripping the live versions down to the essentials, but it would be pretty different from what we’re recording. Could be good, could be bad…

The guy who runs our label, Syd, has this thing where he says over and over, “A band’s job is to tour” (after writing and recording and all that) and I guess that’s how we look at piracy. We just want to make music and tour, so whatever enables that is cool. It’s not that we don’t think about how people might hear our music, but in the end as long as they’re hearing it (and hopefully coming to shows), that’s what matters most. I’m definitely interested in the business side of things, from an academic viewpoint, but it’s more important to us to be making music. All that being said, I’ll always buy records from my favorites or newbies I like, and go to their shows just to be supportive, and I think there’s a significant chunk of people who’ll do the same.

I’ve been obsessed with this Orbison song  lately (and specifically this performance of it):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pzoSDsyiftA

I think all 240 views are mine.

My friend Leah just sent me this and I’ve been pretty into it as well:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HI8iVpYaDi0

That’s my time, y’alls!

thanks for having me,

keep in touch,

Danny

PS If anyone really really wants to read a traditional question/answer thing,there’s no way I’m going to top this from the master, Bill Callahan (“initial erotic horror” kills me):

http://www.geocities.ws/smogsite/onthecouch.html

——

Support The Big Sleep.

big sleep

Contact Fizzy at fizzy@rekiosk.com if you are interested in getting your band or book on the blog!

Comments are closed.

